Main Nav
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
Cover of The Lost Girl of Astor Street
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
Borrow Borrow
When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia's disappearance. Given that...
When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia's disappearance. Given that...
Available Formats-
  • OverDrive Read
  • EPUB eBook
Languages:-
Copies-
  • Available:
    1
  • Library copies:
    1

Recommended for you

 

Description-

  • When her best friend vanishes without so much as a good-bye, eighteen-year-old Piper Sail takes on the role of amateur sleuth in an attempt to solve the mystery of Lydia's disappearance. Given that Piper's tendency has always been to butt heads with high-society's expectations of her, it's no surprise that she doesn't give a second thought to searching for answers to Lydia's abduction from their privileged neighborhood.

    As Piper discovers that those answers might stem from the corruption strangling 1924 Chicago—and quite possibly lead back to the doors of her affluent neighborhood—she must decide how deep she's willing to dig, how much she should reveal, and if she's willing to risk her life of privilege for the sake of the truth.

    Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, Stephanie Morrill's atmospheric jazz-age mystery will take readers from the glitzy homes of the elite to the dark underbelly of 1920s Chicago.

About the Author-

  • Stephanie Morrill lives in Overland Park, Kansas, with her husband and three kids. She is the author of The Reinvention of Skylar Hoyt series, Go Teen Writers: How to Turn Your First Draft Into a Published Book, and the Ellie Sweet series. She enjoys encouraging and teaching teen writers on her blog, GoTeenWriters.com. To connect with Stephanie and read samples of her books, check out StephanieMorrill.com.

Reviews-

  • Publisher's Weekly

    November 21, 2016
    Chicago, 1924. With Prohibition in full swing, the city is full of mobsters, illegal gin joints, cops on the take, and professionals who benefit from criminal activity. Piper Sail, 18, has a privileged life on Astor Street in Chicago’s tony Gold Coast neighborhood, but when her best friend Lydia is kidnapped, Piper—who has always been considered a bad influence by her teachers and peers due to her independent and often reckless behavior—takes it upon herself to solve the crime. She teams up with detective Mariano Cassano to find out what happened to Lydia, uncovering unsavory information about her neighbors, her new crush (the detective), and even her own family. Morrill (the Ellie Sweet series) crafts a well-plotted mystery novel with plenty of twists, turns, and red herrings. Piper’s determination and attitude make her an engaging protagonist, though her mix of naiveté and nerve can make her character seem inconsistent. Though this is an entertaining mystery, one doesn’t feel especially connected to the time and place in which it is set. Ages 13–up. Agent: Sandra Bishop, Transatlantic Literary.

  • School Library Journal

    December 1, 2016

    Gr 7 Up-Eighteen-year-old Piper Sail, daughter of a well-to-do 1920s Chicago mobster attorney, isn't an average society girl, like her best friend, Lydia, who is always the perfect lady. Piper is surprised and concerned when Lydia shares her plans to proclaim her love for her quiet and mysterious family chauffeur, Matthew, and she grows even more concerned after Lydia disappears. Consumed with grief over the loss of her best friend, Piper vows to solve the mystery of her disappearance, even if it means resorting to some unconventional and risky investigative methods. Piper has never been one to swoon over boys, but she nonetheless finds herself falling for Det. Mariano Cassano as she searches for clues. As Piper matures and begins to understand her father's profession, she questions her judgment and the character of the handsome detective because of his family's relationship to her father. This coming-of-age tale describes the struggles of a child growing up without a mother to reinforce the behavior so expected of women at the time. It's also the story of a young woman experiencing loss and first love and learning to accept circumstances and people for what and who they really are. Morrill successfully captures the dark side of 1920s Chicago and the mobster mentality. Strong supportive characters add depth to the novel, and the author keeps readers guessing on multiple fronts. VERDICT An enjoyable yet sobering mystery with a surprising twist for inquisitive readers.-Susan Harris, Ridgeway High School, TN

    Copyright 2016 School Library Journal, LLC Used with permission.

  • Kirkus

    December 1, 2016
    A debutante eschews convention to investigate the suspicious disappearance of her best friend.With her bobbed hair and plucky attitude, Piper Sail pushes boundaries, but she isn't quite a flapper. Living in 1920s Chicago with her brother and father--a powerful and wealthy attorney--the white teen has enjoyed a life of privilege alongside her best friend, Lydia LeVine, also white and the daughter of an affluent doctor. Lydia suffers from devastating seizures, which her father dismisses until they occur publicly. When Lydia suddenly disappears, Piper, unable to quietly sit by with her hands folded, launches her own investigation. Soon the spirited ingenue finds herself entrenched in a dark web of secrets, speak-easies, and Mafiosi, and everyone--from Lydia's family to their hired help (including a black housekeeper with distressingly stereotyped speech patterns) to Lydia's employer--seems like a prime suspect. Aided by a handsome young detective, Piper plunges herself further into the case, going undercover in an effort to bring Lydia justice, which leads Piper to face some hard truths about her society life. After a somewhat slow and stiff start, readers will be rewarded for their patience as tensions grow and red herrings abound. Morrill has a keen eye for historical details and setting, making Jazz Age Chicago Piper's invisible yet omnipresent sidekick. Here's hoping this won't be the last case for this strong and admirable female sleuth to solve. A mostly well-crafted historical whodunit. (Historical mystery. 12-16)

    COPYRIGHT(2016) Kirkus Reviews, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Title Information+

  • Publisher
    Blink
  • OverDrive Read
    Release date:
  • EPUB eBook
    Release date:

Digital Rights Information+

  • Copyright Protection (DRM) required by the Publisher may be applied to this title to limit or prohibit printing or copying. File sharing or redistribution is prohibited. Your rights to access this material expire at the end of the lending period. Please see Important Notice about Copyrighted Materials for terms applicable to this content.

You've reached your checkout limit.

Visit your Checkouts page to manage your titles.

Close

You already have this title checked out.

Want to go to your Checkouts?

Close

Recommendation Limit Reached.

You have reached the maximum number of titles you are allowed to recommend at this time. You can recommend up to 99 titles every 1 days.

Close

Sign in to recommend this title.

Recommend this title for your digital library.

Close

Enhanced Details:

Close
Close

Limited availability

Availability can change throughout the month based on the library's budget.

is available for days.

Once playback starts, you have hours to view the title.

Close

Permissions

Close

There are no copies of this issue left to borrow. Please try to borrow this title again when a new issue is released.

Close

The OverDrive Read format of this eBook has professional narration that plays while you read in your browser. Learn more here.

Close

Holds

Total holds:


Close

Restricted

Some format options have been disabled. You may see additional download options outside of this network.

Close

You've reached your library's checkout limit for digital titles.

To make room for more checkouts, you may be able to return titles from your Checkouts page.

Close

Excessive Checkout Limit Reached.

There have been too many titles checked out and returned by your account within a short period of time.

Try again in several days. If you are still not able to check out titles after 7 days, please contact Support.

Close

You have already checked out this title. To access it, return to your Checkouts page.

Close

This title is not available for your card type. If you think this is an error contact support.

Close

An unexpected error has occurred.

If this problem persists, please contact support.

Close

Close

NOTE: Barnes and Noble® may change this list of devices at any time.

Close
Recommend this title for your digital library
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
Stephanie Morrill
Optional:
Close
Buy it now
and support our digital library!
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
The Lost Girl of Astor Street
Stephanie Morrill
A portion of your purchase goes to support your digital library.
Clicking on the ‘Buy it Now’ link will cause you to leave the digital library website. The ‘Buy it Now’ link will connect you to a retail website where you can purchase content for personal use. The content of the retail website is not controlled by the library. Please be aware that the website does not have the same privacy policy as the digital library website.
Close
Barnes & Noble Sign In |   Sign In

The first time you select “Send to NOOK,” you will be taken to a Barnes & Noble page to sign into (or create) your NOOK account. You should only have to sign into your NOOK account once to link it to your library account. After this one-time step, periodicals will be automatically sent to your NOOK account when you select "Send to NOOK."

You can read periodicals on any NOOK tablet or in the free NOOK reading app for iOS, Android or Windows 8.

Accept to ContinueCancel

Close

Renewing this title won't extend your lending period. Instead, it will let you borrow the title again immediately after your first lending period expires.

Close

You can't renew this title because there are holds on it. However, you can join the holds list and be notified when it becomes available for you to borrow again.

Close